Awarded for distinguished services at sea (including Merchant Navy and fishermen).
This decoration was instituted on 19 November 1918, in five classes.

For its description : see the Civil Decoration 1914-1918 on this site. Only the ribbon and the ribbon attachment of crossed anchors constitute a difference with that decoration.
First Class Cross (gilt)
Second Class Cross (silvered)
First Class Medal (gilt)
Second Class Medal (silvered)
Third Class Medal (bronze)
The Maritime Decoration 1914-1918
Maritime Medal (1st, 2nd and 3rd Class)
Maritime Cross (1st and 2nd Class)
© Hendrik Meersschaert, 2017